Contact us to "Get Your Name Here". Become a sponsor today!! Email: info@porterspartanband.org

22625 Sandy Lane, Porter TX  77365   |   281-577-5900 x5720

Matthew Bullock

TMEA All State Percussion


Allie Harris

TMEA All State Eb Clarinet


Graydon Harrison

TMEA All State Bassoon

2018, 2019, 2020, 2021

Javier Miranda

TMEA All State

Contra Bass Clarinet



The following students of the Porter High School Band have earned the prestigious honor of being named a Texas All-State Musician. Despite the innumerable challenges encountered throughout the school year,  All-Staters remained committed to their personal musical development. They demonstrated the very perseverance and dedication that ongoing participation in a music program fosters.

These students were chosen for this impressive honor through a competitive process that begins in the fall and includes District, Region, and Area levels. The students performed with the Porter High School Band, currently under the direction of Dr. Jimmy Nowell, a member of the Texas Music Educators Association, a 19,000+ member organization headquartered in Austin.

TMEA sponsors the Texas All-State audition process to promote students’ dedication to their musical knowledge and skill and to encourage educators to support their students in this development. All-State is the highest honor a Texas music student can receive. 

In a given year, over 50,000 students from around the state enter the audition process, and 1,860 students are selected each year for classifications 5A and 6A. This competitive process begins throughout the state in auditions hosted by 33 TMEA Regions. Individual musicians perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument. From this ranking, a select group of musicians advances from their Region to compete against musicians from other areas in eight TMEA Area competitions. The highest-ranking musicians judged at the TMEA Area competitions qualify to a TMEA All-State music group. 


Brandon Kusaj

TMEA All State Alto Saxophone


Jesse Galindo

TMEA All State Trumpet

2020, 2021